Just starting

Ok, this is all new to me but I have had many people who think that I should start a blog because they believe I have something to write about! Ha!  Well proof is in the pudding as they say and we will see what becomes of all of this.

But I guess if I must pen a blog let me tell you what direction I want this blog to go in.  I always wished I was surrounded by people who would keep it real with me.  Too many fake friends and family out here that its not even funny sometimes.  So in saying all of that I will tell you what I want this blog to be able to achieve.  An inside look at my life.  Maybe me keeping it real with you will inspire you to keep it real with others.  I’m 38 and a wife and mother of six!  Three boys, three girls.  The boys came first and than the girls.  The boys are ages 17, 15 and 11 and my girls are ages 9, 6 and 4.  I will post pics soon of everybody.  But I’m the youngest of three sisters.  Unfortunately we are not that close even though I got mad love for my sisters…they have their own lives, children and friends.  My dad now has put me in the position of taking care of him when it has always been the opposite…him taking care of me.  He has dementia and he’s quite young.  His condition is taxing on my mom who is his sole caregiver.  No help from the outside.  I mean you get family who wants to know all your business but not too many people who really want to step out and offer a hand of some real assistance.  Anyhoo, my daddy is not well and this disease is progressing fast (in his case).  I never thought I would see the day when it looks like I will be living on this earth without my dad.  The mere thought sends cold and shiver through my body and I can ‘t imaging surviving it. But I will have to because I have so many other ones who depend on me for their existence.

I also have a daughter, my youngest who was diagnosed at 4 weeks old (she’s now 4) with something called a vallecular malformation (hope I spelled that right).  She has had a whooping 13 surgeries to try and remove this cyst that blocks her precious little airway.  They have all been successful with placing a band-aid, for lack of a better word, on the problem but nothing has fixed the problem so that we never have to put her through another surgery again.  But I give props to her surgeon for he is a Johns Hopkins doctor and he is the best of the best!   But through this blog I hope to share my experiences so that others can relate and maybe share.  Sometimes talking is therapeutic enough 😀

I also want to share in my blog my …. (DRUMROLL PLEASSSE) natural hair care journey!  Dear Lawd it has been a year since I did the big chop and I have probably spent several bundles on different products and stopped several dozen random women on the streets of Baltimore to ask them what do they do with their natural hair! LOL  I will share some of my natural hair experiences and you guys can sigh with me!!!!  Like tonight I am going to try and two strand twist my hair and put it on the curly rods…let’s see if I look like Foxy Brown or just a version of a female sheepdog! HA

Till next time my new friends…sugarhoneyicetea

Leave a comment